## **Notification of Political Groups of the Borough Council**

Members are advised that the Proper Officer has received notification, under the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, of the operation of four political groups on the Council namely:-

NAME & NUMBER OF MEMBERS	DESIGNATED LEADER	DESIGNATED DEPUTY LEADER
LABOUR (19)	MIKE STUBBS	DAVE JONES
CONSERVATIVE (19)	SIMON TAGG	MARK HOLLAND
LIBERAL DEMOCRAT (2)	MARION REDDISH	JUNE WALKLATE
NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP (2)	BERT PROCTOR	KEN OWEN
BOROUGH INDEPENDENT GROUP (2)	GARY WHITE	SIMON WHITE

# Representation of Political Groups in Committees and Appointment of Members to Committees

COMMITTEE	TOTAL SEATS	LABOUR	CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	BOROUGH INDEPENDENT GROUP	NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP
Audit &	7	3	3	0	0	1
Standards						
		Mike Stubbs	Gill Burnett			Ken Owen
		Sarah Pickup	Barry Panter			
		Sylvia Dymond	Paul Waring			
Substitutes						
		Kyle Robinson	Andrew Parker			Bert Proctor
		Gill Williams	Mark Holland			
			Graham Hutton			

Employment Committee	7	3	3	0	1	0
		Elizabeth Shenton	Mark Holland		Gary White	
		Mike Stubbs	Stephen Sweeney			
		Andrew Fox-Hewitt	Simon Tagg			
Substitutes						
		John Williams	Helena Maxfield		Simon White	
			Paul Northcott			
			Jill Waring			

Licensing & Public Protection	15	7	6	1	1	0
		Gill Williams	John Cooper	June Walklate	Simon White	
		John Williams	Graham Hutton			
		Tony Kearon	Andrew Parker			
		Dave Jones	Stephen Sweeney			
		Sylvia Dymond	Gill Heesom			
		Ruth Wright	Jill Waring			
		Mark Olszewski				
Substitutes						
		Sylvia Burgess	Julie Cooper	Marion Reddish	Gary White	
		Sue Moffat	Trevor Johnson			
			John Tagg			
			Paul Northcott			
			Ian Wilkes			

Conservation Advisory	5	2	2	1	0	0
		Allison Gardner	Julie Cooper	June Walklate		
		Annabel Lawley	Trevor Johnson			
Substitutes						
		Elizabeth Shenton	Gill Burnett	Marion Reddish		
			Barry Panter			

Planning	12	5	5	1	0	1
		Gill Williams	Jenny Cooper	Marion Reddish		Ken Owen
		John Williams	Andrew Fear			
		Silvia Burgess	Helena Maxfield			
		Sue Moffat	Paul Northcott			
		Dave Jones	Mark Holland			
Substitutes						
		Sylvia Dymond	Simon Tagg	June Walklate		Bert Proctor
		Mike Stubbs	Barry Panter			
			Stephen Sweeney			
Health, Wellbeing & Partnerships Scrutiny	11	5	5	0	0	1
		Ruth Wright	Julie Cooper			Bert Proctor
		Sylvia Burgess	John Cooper			
		Sue Moffat	lan Wilkes			
		Tony Kearon	Barry Panter			
		Allison Gardner				
Substitutes						
		Sarah Pickup	Jenny Cooper			Ken Owen
		Andrew Fox-Hewitt	Gill Heesom			
			Graham Hutton			

Andy Fear

Economy, Environment & Place Scrutiny	11	4	5	1	1	0
		David Grocott	Jenny Cooper	Marion Reddish	Gary White	
		Amelia Rout	Andy Fear			
		Mark Olszewski	Gill Heesom			
		Dave Jones	John Tagg			
			Barry Panter			
Substitutes						
		Tony Kearon	Andrew Parker	June Walklate	Simon White	
			lan Wilkes			
			Paul Waring			
			Gill Burnett			

Finance, Assets & Performance SC	11	5	5	0	0	1
		Mike Stubbs	Gill Burnett			Bert Proctor
		Tony Kearon	Andy Fear			
		David Grocott	Graham Hutton			
		Sarah Pickup	Mark Holland			
		Amelia Rout	Paul Waring			
Substitutes						
		Dave Jones	John Cooper			Ken Owen
		Elizabeth Shenton	Barry Panter			
			John Tagg			
			Andrew Parker			

## Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees (in accordance Council Procedure Rule 2.1)

Members are advised of the following nominations for the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair on each of the Council's Committees. Where there is more than one nomination to any Chair or Vice-Chair role, the Council must vote on which Member to appoint.

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	VICE-CHAIR
Audit & Standards	CLLR SARAH PICKUP CLLR PAUL WARING	CLLR KEN OWEN CLLR SYLVIA DIAMOND
Conservation Advisory	CLLR ALISON GARDNER CLLR JULIE COOPER	CLLR ANNABEL LAWLEY CLLR TREVOR JOHNSON
Employment Committee	PORTFOLIO HOLDER	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Licensing & Public Protection	CLLR SIMON WHITE CLLR MARK OLSZEWSKI	CLLR DAVE JONES CLLR GRAHAM HUTTON
Planning	CLLR JOHN WILLIAMS CLLR ANDY FEAR	CLLR MARION REDDISH CLLR GILL WILLIAMS
Health, Wellbeing & Partnerships SC	CLLR SUE MOFFAT CLLR IAN WILKES	CLLR RUTH WRIGHT CLLR JULIE COOPER
Economy, Environment & Place SC	CLLR GARY WHITE CLLR DAVE JONES	CLLR AMELIA ROUT CLLR GILL HEESOM
Finance, Assets & Performance SC	CLLR MIKE STUBBS CLLR MARK HOLLAND	CLLR BERT PROCTOR CLLR SARAH PICKUP

# Appointment of Mayor and Deputy Mayor (in accordance Council Procedure Rule 2.1)

Members are advised of the following nominations for the positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Where there is more than one nomination to either role, the Council must vote on which Member to appoint.

MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR NOMINATIONS					
NOMINATION FOR MAYOR	CLLR JOHN COOPER				
NOMINATION FOR DEPUTY MAYOR	CLLR KEN OWEN CLLR ELIZABETH SHENTON				